Australia Top Stories World

Daylight Saving Time due to start in Australia

MELBOURNE, Australia: The government has announced the initiation of Daylight Saving Time (DST) in the eastern part of the country from Sunday.

The new time will come into effect officially at 2am on October 6, Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST).

On the day, clocks will move forward an hour for those in the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia and Tasmania.

Digital devices will automatically update, however, it is worth double checking your devices for the new time.

DST is seasonal time change wherein clocks are set ahead standard time during some part of the year to make most of the daylight hours.

Around 40% of the countries use DST to save on energy consumption.

In Australia, DST traditionally begins on the first Sunday of October and ends in April.