Latest Pakistan Top Stories

Travel ban slapped on ex PM Abbasi, Miftah Ismail, Hamza Shahbaz, others

ISLAMABAD: The federal government has placed the names of senior Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leaders including former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Opposition Leader in the Punjab Assembly Hamza Shehbaz, his brother Suleman Shehbaz, former Finance Minister Miftah Ismail and others on the Exit Control List (ECL).

A local media outlet while quoting unnamed sources said that the government gave approval to a National Accountability Bureau’s plea to put the name of the PML-N leaders on no-fly list.

Among those who have been banned from travelling abroad are Hamza Shehbaz, Suleman Shehbaz and Miftah Ismail.

They said former head of Pakistan Steel Mills Moin Aftab was also put on the list barring individuals from travelling abroad.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s name was placed on the ECL with regard to LNG case, the sources said further.

The federal cabinet had earlier approved placement of Abbasi’s name on the ECL.