Latest Pakistan Top Stories

Nawaz Sharif paid 860pc less tax in 2017

ISLAMABAD: The tax paid by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in the tax year 2017 registered a whopping decline of 860 percent.

The tax payments of incumbent Prime Minister Imran Khan also declined by 35 percent in the period under review when compared to tax paid a year earlier.

Imran paid Rs103,763 in the tax year 2017 against Rs159,609 paid a year ago. Nawaz Sharif paid Rs2.524 million in 2016, when he was prime minister, but it fell to Rs263,173 in 2017, a decline of 860pc or Rs2.27m. However, former PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s tax payment saw a growth of over 16pc to Rs3.086m in 2017 from Rs2.65m a year ago.

State Minister for Revenue Hammad AZhar released the fifth tax directory of parliamentarians.

The directory shows the starks contrast in the lifestyles and expenditures of many of the parliamentarians.

Former MNA Jahangir Khan Tareen, who was disqualified by the Supreme Court, was the richest parliamentarian in the country in 2017 with a tax payment of Rs97.3m, while MPA Khatu Mal Jeewan, with Rs1,145 tax payment, was the poorest. In the tax year 2016, Mr Tareen was also the richest parliamentarian with Rs53.67m tax payment.

Former Punjab chief minister and current MNA Shahbaz Sharif paid Rs10.29m tax, while his son Hamza Sharif paid Rs8.26m in 2017.

Sindh Chief Minister Sindh Murad Ali Shah paid Rs988,864 tax in 2017, besides a hefty amount of Rs7.08m in the category of association of persons (AoP). Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Mahmood Khan paid Rs232,725. Balochistan Chief Minister paid Rs6.14m in 2017. Punjab Assembly Speaker Pervez Elahi paid Rs2.13m.

Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rashid Ahmed paid Rs702,698 tax, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party chief Mehmood Khan Achakzai Rs138,573, Jamaat-i-Islami emir Sirajul Haq Rs138,573 and JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman paid Rs125,225.

According to the directory, the senators paid more income tax in 2017 than the MNAs. Of the 104 senators, 98 filed tax returns. Senator Talha Meh­mood from Khyber Pakhtun­khwa paid the highest income tax of Rs43.18m, while Rubina Khalid of the Pakistan People Party paid only Rs44,485.

Other taxpayer senators are: Rozi Khan from Balochistan (Rs40.86m, second highest) Taj Mohammad Afridi Rs29.3m, third highest) Dr Farogh Naseem (Rs27.88m), Aitzaz Ahsan (Rs25.86m), Muhsin Aziz (Rs1.5m), Farooq H. Naek (Rs11.06m), Ishaq Dar (Rs9.38m), Shahi Syed (Rs2.4m), Chaudhry Tanvir Khan (Rs3.03m), retired Lt Gen Abdul Qayum (Rs3.12m), Sherry Rehman (Rs1.8m), Saleem Mandviwalla (Rs1.44m) and Islamuddin Shaikh (Rs1.89m).