Image default
Latest Pakistan Top Stories

Pemra to Issue Licenses to New Satellite TV Channels

ISLAMABAD:  Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) has approved the licensing process of new satellite TV channels, which will be awarded through an open and transparent bidding process.

The 146th meeting of the Pemra Authority was held here with itsChairman Saleem Baig in the chair.

The meeting after thorough and threadbare deliberation approved the process of licensing of new satellite TV channels.

With the approval of the process, the authority will be awarding new licenses for new satellite TV channels.

Read More…..Media Crisis Deepens as Jang Group Shuts Down Its Five Newspapers

Earlier the licensing process was halted by a bench of Lahore High Court (LHC) by staying the process.

The court had directed the regulator to re-advertise the licensing process once a permanent chairman of the authority was appointed.

The authority in its meeting also determined the numbers of licenses to be issued and their genre in light of the LHC’s decision.

The meeting also approved amendments to PEMRA Television Broadcast Station Operations 2012 and in regulations regarding Security Clearance of Directors/Licensees of Satellite TV channels.

The authority approved the grant of two Non-Commercial FM Radio Licenses to Punjab Food Authority (PFA), Lahore and BeaconhouseNational University, Lahore.

The request of Virtual University for the renewal of the Non-Commercial Satellite TV Licenses, VTV-I and VTV-II in the specialized subject category was also approved subject to a revised fee.

Two Landing Rights Permissions were approved for M/S Mediacon Network (Pvt) Ltd, Karachi for Foreign TV Channel “English Club TV” and “Kidzone TV,” and Landing Right Permissions for Channel “TOONAMI” was cancelled on their own request.

Likewise, approval was granted for one Mobile TV (Video & Audio Content Provision) Services license to M/s Ideation (Pvt) Ltd. Islamabad, and two Internet Protocol TV Distribution Service Licenses for M/s TES Media (Pvt) Ltd  Islamabad, for Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad Telecom Zones and M/s Nayatel (Pvt) Ltd, for Islamabad, Rawalpindi, Peshawar and Faisalabad Telecom Zones. Besides these agendas, the authority reviewed the status of DTH licensing and took appropriate decisions as per law.

The authority members welcomed Secretary Information and Broadcasting as an authority member in the pursuance of the amendment to the Ordinance as a representative of the Federal Government.

The meeting was attended by Shafqat Jalil, Secretary Information and other members including Nargis Nasir, Member Punjab, Shaheen Habibullah, Member KP, Sarfaraz Khan Jatoi, Member Sindh, Muhammad Naveed, Chairman PTA and Ashfaq Jumani, Executive Member PEMRA.