Image default
Cricket Sports Top Stories

West Indies opt to bowl as Carlos makes debut

SHARJAH: West Indies have won the toss and elected to bowl first in the first ODI of three-match series at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah.West Indian skipper Jason Holder won the toss and opted to field first on a slow, turning track.

Happy captain while announcing T20 skipper Carlos Brathwaite’s debut, stated that they have put behind T20 debacle.

“We give ourselves the best chance of winning by chasing. We’ve put behind the T20Is. We’ve had enough time to prepare and adjust, ” said Holder at the toss.

Pakistani skipper Azhar Ali stated,  “We’ve been very good in the last few limited-overs games, and we’ll take that confidence into this series,” he says. “The game has moved forward, as a unit we’ve to improve. Hopefully you’ll see the difference (in our approach) in the near future. One change from our last ODI – Wahab Riaz is in for Umar Gul. “

Pakistan Team
Azhar Ali*, Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz (3), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali
West Indies Team
KC Brathwaite, J Charles, DM Bravo, MN Samuels, D Ramdin, KA Pollard, JO Holder*, CR Brathwaite, SP Narine,SJ Benn, ST Gabriel