Image default
Pakistan Punjab Top Stories

Final results from PP-7 by-election

ISLAMABAD: Complete results from all 167 polling stations in Taxila’s PP-7 by-election have poured in and it is equally shocking for both major parties in the constituency.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Umar Farooq has won the election with 46,800 votes.

Whereas, Pakistan Tehrik e Insaf’s (PTI) candidate Ammar Siddiqui was runner up with 39,655 votes.

However, the results are heartbreaking for for PTI fans and workers, as they had actually had an upper hand in the contest, as results from 67 polling stations are still tom come.

The polling began at 8am and continued till 5pm without any interval.

The seat had fallen vacant due to the death of Muhammad Siddique Khan, a member of Punjab Assembly of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.

In general Elections of 2013, Siddique Khan had defeated Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan by thin margin.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) finalized the arrangements for holding free, fair and transparent by-polls in PP-07 Taxila (Rawalpindi VII) today.

District Coordination officer has already announced local holiday in Taxila and adjacent areas to enable voters to use their right to franchise in hassle free manner. Government and private educational institutes would remain closed in the district, however district courts would remain open on Monday.

As many as 167 polling stations have been set- up in the constituency. A total of 2,000 police officers have been deployed in the constituency to provide security to voters. The contingents of Elite force have also been deployed to ensure free, fair and transparent elections.

The training of polling staff has already been completed. Haji Malik Muhammad Umer Farooq of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Ammar Siddique Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Chaudhary Kamran Aslam of Pakistan People’s Party are in the run.