Image default
Pakistan Sindh Top Stories

Final results from PS-127 by-election leaked

KARACHI: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has won the by-election after takening an unbeatable lead of 5094 votes in the PS-127 Malir by-election for the Sindh Assembly.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results from 133 polling stations out f 134, PPP candidate Ghulam Murtaza Baloch is ahead in the race with18059 votes while his rival Waseem Ahmed of the Mutahida Quami Movement (MQM) has secured 12965 votes.

MQM leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui admitted defeat and acknowledged PPP leader Mualabux Chandio’s point of view that the PPP has a presence and vote bank in Karachi.

The seat fell vacant after the resignation of MQM member Ashfaque Mangi after he joined the Mustafa Kamal-led Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP).

 Other candidates in the race include Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Nadeem Memon, as well as candidates from the Awami National Party (ANP), and the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI).