Image default
Cricket Sports Top Stories

T20 skipper Sarfraz Ahmed already revealed playing XI?

MANCHESTER: Pakistan’s fresh Twenty20 captain Sarfraz Ahmed, before his debut match as skipper, almost revealed his final XI for the first T20 game during the pre-match press conference.

Sarfraz, while speaking to media at Old Trafford stadium, stated that Khalid Latif and Sharjeel Khan will open the batting for Pakistan.

With this, he also mentioned that Imad Wasim is the main man of their team and they are depending on him a lot.

Though, he did not say much about the team he wants to play with tomorrow’s game, but that is enough said for cricket lovers to determine what playing eleven will Pakistan go with in the series-finisher.

Firstly, Pakistan announced their 13-men squad for the only T20 against England.

Pakistan Cricket Team Squad for T20 Series 2016 against England:

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanveer, Amad Butt.

Irfan, lately ruled out of the series due to calf strain and Hasan Ali from ODI squad was asked to fill in.

Having said that Latif will open with Sharjeel, the skipper already made his place confirmed, with himself (Sarfraz) and Imad, will make it four.

With Shoaib Malik’s returning form, he would be required down the order to finish the job. That makes it five.

The way Rizwan finished the job at Cardiff, and the way Babar Azam has played, they have not only made  their way in tomorrow’s game, but also for upcoming series against West Indies.

And… Nawaz making a good pair of spin with Imad, and his handiness as a batsman, he would be considered in. Now pace battery would most definitely rely on Amir and Sohail Tanveer.

Which means, the only thought to be given, would be between debutante Amad Butt and Hasan Ali who has already showed potential as an all-rounder.

Now, after stating that he wanted to end the tour on a high note, Pakistan will not be looking to take risks. So the choice would be Hasan Ali.

The final eleven becomes:

Pakistan 1 Khalid Latif, 2 Sharjeel Khan, 3 Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), 4 Mohammad Rizwan, 5 Babar Azam, 6 Imad Wasim, 7 Shoaib Malik, 8 Mohammad Nawaz, 9 Mohammad Amir, 10 Hasan Ali, 11 Sohail Tanveer.