Image default
Cricket Sports Top Stories

England announce squad for Pakistan T20s

LONDON: English Cricket Board has announced its fifteen-men squad for the only T20 international match against Pakistan next week.

England have brought back several white-ball regulars for the one-off T20 against Pakistan at Old Trafford next week, with Liam Dawson – who took 3 for 27 on debut against Sri Lanka in July – among those to miss out.

Joe Root, Alex Hales and Moeen Ali all return after being rested for the Sri Lanka fixture, whileBen Stokes and Mark Wood are back after recovering from injury. Stokes is in line to play his first T20 international since being hit for four consecutive sixes by Carlos Brathwaite in the final of the World T20 in April.

James Vince, who played against Sri Lanka but was dropped for the one-day series with Pakistan in order to try and find some form in red-ball cricket after a tough introduction to the Test side; Jonny Bairstow, and the uncapped Dawid Malan were the others omitted from England’s 14-man squad.

England have also announced that Steven Finn has been training with Middlesex after a hamstring injury suffered during the Oval Test against Pakistan and could be fit to play a part in next week’s Championship game against Nottinghamshire.

England T20 squad to play Pakistan: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Mark Wood

– espncricinfo