Image default
Cricket Sports Top Stories

Ireland announce squad for Pakistan ODIs

LONDON: Ireland have announced their 14-men squad for two-match One Day series against Pakistan which starting from 18th of the next month.

Ireland would be boosted to Niall O’Brien, Craig Young and Boyd Rankin in their squad for the upcoming series.

O’Brien (calf) and Young (elbow) missed the recent series against Afghanistan due to injuries while Rankin was unavailable because of Warwickshire commitments.

The return of Rankin and Young will add depth to the pace-bowling department when they take on Pakistan in Dublin on August 18 and 20 but there is no place for left-arm spinner George Dockrell.

O’Brien’s presence will bring experience to the top order which continues to rely heavily on Ed Joyce who scored 339 runs at 169.50 in four innings against Afghanistan. The next highest scorer was Kevin O’Brien with 145 runs in four innings.

Ireland squad v Pakistan

William Porterfield (capt), John Anderson, Peter Chase, Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

On the other hand, Pakistan, who are currently locking horns with England on their home soil, will announce their squad at the end of Test series.