Image default
KP & FATA Pakistan Top Stories

PMLN’s Arbab Wasim Khan wins PK-8 by-election

PESHAWAR: Vote count in Khyber Pakhutnkhwa (KPK) provincial Assembly seat PK-8 has come to an end and according to reports, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s (PMLN) Arbab Wasim Hayat secures a close win with 11,695 votes.

According to unofficial results from 98 polling stations, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN) candidate Arbab Wasim Hayat wins a PK-8 bye-election  with 11,789 votes while PPP’s Tehmash Khan stood second with 10,965 votes.

It was a huge blow for hot-favourite Pakistan Tehrik e Insaf who stood third with 9,347 votes.

As many as 40 polling centres were declared extremely sensitive, 47, sensitive and 11 were declared normal.

PPP Senator Saeed Ghani has blamed PMLN for changing results in polling booths and officially requested to election commission for a re-count.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Shehzad Khan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI) Asif Iqbal, Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Malik Tehmash and Awami National Party’s (ANP) Ejaz Samyab among 15 contestants.

Earlier, it was expected that PTI, JUI and PPP would line by one another in the results with close margins.

Total 1.36 lac voters are registered in PK-8, however, turnout is dismal in the early hours. Media are permitted limited coverage of the by-election.

Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) had withdrawn in favour of PTI earlier.