Image default
KP & FATA Pakistan Top Stories

Both PMLN, PPP claim PK-8 by-election

PESHAWAR: Vote count process in Vote count in Khyber Pakhutnkhwa (KPK) provincial Assembly seat PK-8 has been completed and interestingly both Pakistan Muslium League Nawaz (PMLN) and Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) candidates are claiming victory in bye-polls.

As per reports from Peshwar, after results from 94 polling stations out of 98, PPP candidate Malik Tehmash Khan had a closed lead over PLMLN’s Arbab Wasim Hayat.

However, supporters from both candidates are claiming win over another and celebrating in ‘traditional’ ways. Sweets are being distributed in the area and aerial-firing has been started.

Citing a possible clash, election commission has held the final announcement of the results.

PPP Senator Saeed Ghani has blamed PMLN for changing results in polling booths.

According to results from 94 polling stations, PPP’s Tehmash Khan is leading the race with over 11,000 votes, while Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PMLN) candidate Arbab Wasim Hayat is second in the row with 10,910 votes.

Security concerns loom over the by-election as 40 polling centres were declared extremely sensitive, 47, sensitive and 11 were declared normal. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Shehzad Khan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI) Asif Iqbal, Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Malik Tehmash and Awami National Party’s (ANP) Ejaz Samyab among 15 contestants.

Earlier, it was expected that PTI, JUI and PPP would line by one another in the results with close margins.

Total 1.36 lac voters are registered in PK-8, however, turnout is dismal in the early hours. Media are permitted limited coverage of the by-election.

Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) had withdrawn in favour of PTI earlier.