Image default
Pakistan Punjab Top Stories

Ayaz Sadiq reclaims Takht-i-Lahore

NA 122: PTI faces defeat in home ground |

LAHORE : In a closely contested by-election on Sunday, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Ayaz Sadiq has retained NA-122 Lahore seat by defeating Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf s Aleem Khan with a margin of over three thousand votes.

As per unofficial results, former National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq has secured 75,410 votes whereas Aleem Khan bagged 72,043 votes.

Around 200,000 people voted out of 348,000 registered voters. Official results were due to be announced by the election commission on Monday morning.

PML-N supporters were also seen celebrating the victory in various parts of the city, distributing sweets and setting off fireworks.

ECP has not yet issued notification for successful candidates, according to statement issued from ECP, notification will be issued after candidates will submit their campaign expanse details.